Support Now | Email Sign-up
The National High School Musical Theatre Awards

Event Details


The 5th annual National High School Musical Theater Awards was held on Monday, July 1, 2013, at the Minskoff Theatre on Broadway.

Activities commenced on Wednesday, June 26, with rehearsals, master classes, private coaching and interviews with theater professionals leading up to the live awards show where the Jimmy™ Awards for Best Performance by an Actor and Best Performance by an Actress were presented.

The ceremony was hosted by the Tony® Award-nominated stars of Rodgers & Hammerstein’s Cinderella, Laura Osnes (Cinderella) and Santino Fontana (the Prince). The production was directed by Van Kaplan and choreographed by Kiesha LaLama with musical direction by Michael Moricz.

The awards presentation featured student performances by all 62 participants and solos by select finalists.

The Jimmy™ Award, named in honor of James M. Nederlander—the legendary Broadway theater owner and producer, was presented following 5-days of rehearsals and private coaching with faculty at the New Studio on Broadway, NYU Tisch School of the Arts Department of Drama. Students also enjoyed discussions with Tony®-nominated composer Benj Pasek, Kirstin Tucker (Assistant Dance Captain, Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella), and iconic theater artist Charles Busch. The students also took in a performance of Annie and enjoyed a talkback with the cast. The program concluded on Tuesday, July 2, 2013.


Please use the links below to learn more about this important event.

2013 Nominees

2013 Winners

2013 Event Playbill®


Our Sponsors

NYU New Studio on Broadway